Level Me Up by Lauren Helms (Gamer Boy #1)

“The last thing Morgan Lawson is looking for when attending Comic-Con is love. But even prior to exchanging first words, Morgan is drawn to Dex, a drop-dead sexy gamer boy who lives and breathes video games. Before she realizes it, Morgan finds herself caught up in all things Dex.

Dex Roberts knows from the moment he first sees Morgan, he wants more. He falls hard and fast but isn’t surprised when his job as a professional video gamer takes a toll on their relationship.

Once Morgan decides what truly makes her happy, there’s no time to waste. But without warning, life threatens to destroy what both Morgan and Dex want most… each other.”

Main photo hotdog (1)

Level Me Up is the first book in the Gamer Series by brand new author Lauren Helms!

add-to-goodreads-button314

AMAZON | US | UK | CA | AU |

Free on KINDLE UNLIMITED!

 

One of my favorite things about being a book blogger and reviewer is reading debut novels. I have read some really great debut books, and some really crappy ones. This one, well this one is AMAZING! Not to take away the shine from Lauren Helms but I highly recommend you check out Harloe Rae’s debut novel Redefining Us and K. Reeses debut Sin & Cider. All three of these amazing ladies are already in works of their next book within their series and I CAN NOT WAIT TO READ MORE, and THE GAMER BOY series is definitely on that list!

So why am I going to impatiently wait for Lauren Helm’s next book in the series? WELL because this book was 5 stars and more. Really can I only give it 5 stars on Amazon/Goodreads? Level Me Up was my kind of book. I’m not a gamer myself, but my loving adorable boyfriend is and because of that I know a thing or two. It was fun to read about a shy girl – Morgan learn to live and break free after still dealing with a family heartache all those years before.

Not only was this book real, it was also genuine and honest. The situations were legit and not fairy tale like – although at moments coincidence did factor in but that’s fate for ya. The characters were down to earth and faithful to their friends and relied on each other when needed for assistance and guideness. That’s what true friendship is and it’s refreshing.

Not only were Morgan the female lead and Dex the male lead well explained, but their friends and the amp up to the other books in the series is wonderful. Throughout the book we get little nuggets thrown in that could possibly make another blooming romance and another book in The Gamer Boy series. Which by the way have I said how much I can’t wait for that? Because I really can’t!!

So let’s break it down…

Morgan Lawson although moved out of her childhood home and a different state is still a little sheltered. Her friends are there to help her spread her wings and push her when needed. So when Morgan has a meet-cute moment at first conversation with Dex her bestie is there to encourage her to see him again. Through out the book we get to see Morgan blossom into a confident women. And that right there is worth raving about, even without the smoldering and blissful romance.

Can you tell that I loved this book something fierce? No? Well then let’s continue. This book is 100% captivating. I could not put it down and I was definitely okay with that. I finished it all in one sitting, but had to wait a day to find the perfect way to review this book. I’ll let you in on a little secret. There are no words to describe what I just read, just READ IT – not trying to tell you what to do, but I am pretty sure you will thank me later.

Anyways.

Then there is Dex “DosDex” Roberts, makes you catch your breath and lick your lips because he really is that yummy and swoon worthy. He is a professional gamer and has a great team to go along with it. So good they have their own booth and signings at Comic Con in San Diego. This may or may not be where our heroine meets Dex. The situations are awkward but it worked for them. Not only did their first meeting capture their hearts, it captured mine too. Dex has some pretty awesome friends – that I am pretty sure we will see again in this series – and it’s funny getting to read how well they get along with each other and how they have each others backs even if they try to embarrass each other a time or two – okay maybe it’s more than that.

The ending stopped my heart, and I won’t tell you if that’s going to be a beyond happy stop or a breathtaking aching stop. Most romance novels have that “drama” or peak point where one of the characters leaves, breaks up or something happens where they just can’t be together. This situation was in my eyes perfectly understandable. Although I hated it and wished they could figure things out, the feelings of why this was happening all made sense.

So I could go on with my review… but there would be way more paragraphs and really how many times can I express my love for a book – well there is a lot, but I will save you guys from it. Just read this book. It’s full of humor, romance, heart stopping aweeeee-ness, a few tears or maybe a downpour and well… PERFECTION! So I am going to throw those purchase links down here again for you. Plus it’s free on KINDLE UNLIMITED ❤

AMAZON | US | UK | CA | AU |

Copy of Copy of Book Review (1)

 

About the Author

Author Lauren Helms has been an avid reader from a young age. After starting a book review site, that launched her fully into the book world, she decided to take the plunge and write her first novel. Since she was working for a video game strategy guide publisher at the time, she decided to mix what she knew best, video games and romance. Jumping all in, she joined NaNoWriMo and a month later had a 50K word first draft. Lauren lives in Indianapolis, IN with her video game playing husband, two little girl book nerds, and a little boy who will hopefully be a gamer boy too some day!

| Website| Facebook | Twitter | Instagram |

| Newsletter | Pinterest | Amazon | Goodreads |

Leave a Reply

