Cheater by Rachel Van Dyken (Curious Liaisons #1)

“Lucas Thorn wasn’t born a cheater. All it took was a single moment—say, a certain disastrous incident on the night before his wedding—and boom. Reputation destroyed forever and always. So now he owns it. He has a lady friend for every night of the week (except Sundays—God’s day and all), and his rules are simple: No commitments. No exceptions.

But a certain smart-mouthed, strawberry blonde vixen is about to blow that all to hell.

Avery Black has never forgiven Lucas for cheating on her sister. And suddenly being forced to work with him is pretty much a nightmare on steroids. Of course, it does afford her the opportunity to make his life as difficult as possible. But no good revenge scheme comes without payback. Because he didn’t become the Lucas Thorn without learning a few things about women.

Now Avery’s lust for vengeance has turned into, well, lust. And if Lucas stops cheating, it’s definitely not because he’s falling in love…”

File May 18, 3 48 43 PM

Cheater is the first book in the Curious Liaisons series by Rachel Van Dyken

goodreads-badge-add-38px

Available now | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA |

Check out my ARC review on the second book in the series – Cheater’s Regret available May 23rd. Review coming soon!!

I have read a few of Rachel Van Dyken’s books before and LOVED them. The Bet Series is one of my favorites!

I will have to say the blurb for this book is DEAD on. I don’t think I have read a more perfect synopsis for a book. It gives you just enough details to ring me in, but not too much to explain the whole book.

I loved this book – all honesty. I was AIM with my best friends – Yes we still use AIM, and it’s great! We have a group chat set up and the 4 of us bullshit all day during work hours – anyways and while I was reading this book, hell a few chapters in, I was already recommending this book to my friends. Sending them the Goodreads link to add to their TBR.

Lucas Thorn, how does one explain one women for each day, Lucas Thorn? He hasn’t always been like that, he really thought he could settle down one day, be married and all that jazz. But life happens, and things change, so he has 7 women for 6 days of the week. Hey, it’s not cheating because they all know the rules. But my oh my is Lucas someone I would love to breath the same air as. He is sweet (when he wants to be), honest, down right sexy and most importantly has amazing humor. Okay I lied, his swoon worthy description is the most important.

Avery Black is your typical 22 year old. Trying to find her way, spread her wings in the work force. Except she never thought that she would be working with Lucas Thorn. The enemy, the one that was engaged to her “perfect” sister. But she desperately needs this job, or else she is moving back home to her parents – NO THANK YOU. Avery is a little spitfire, and I loved it. Rachel Van Dyke wrote the perfect female lead for this book, and the perfect other half to Lucas… whenever he figures that out himself.

This was a fun, hilarious and addictive read. I found it almost impossible to put down. I could not get enough of Avery’s sassy attitude and Lucas’s wild comebacks. Since knowing each other while Avery was growing up (10 year difference) they still acted like children around each other, and even though it was meant to be rude to each other, it was adorable to me. A building of fire for foreplay. And as the book went on, it really got better and better. The sexual tension was high, and the need to embarrass each other game was strong.

I honestly had a blast reading Lucas and Avery’s story. Their journey was great for both of them maturing more, forgetting the past and falling in love This book was very well written. Perfect mix of sexiness, sweetness and humor. There was even a good mix of sour attitudes.  It had me putting everything on hold from start to finish – including my job and it was a complete bliss in every single way.  I may have smiled to hard, laughed to loud almost the entire time. So needless to say, I highly enjoyed this book! 

Book Review.png

About Rachel Van Dyken

Rachel Van Dyken is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today Bestselling author of regency and contemporary romances. When she’s not writing you can find her drinking coffee at Starbucks and plotting her next book while watching The Bachelor.

She keeps her home in Idaho with her Husband, adorable son, and two snoring boxers! She loves to hear from readers!


Rachel is represented by Erica Spellman Silverman of Trident Media Group.

Follow Rachel Van Dyken | Website | TwitterFacebook |

Instagram | Goodreads | Amazon |

4 thoughts on “Cheater by Rachel Van Dyken (Curious Liaisons #1)

Leave a Reply

