Mr. Popular by Nicole London

“Rule #1: Do not vote for Mr. Popular.
Rule #2: Do not talk to Mr. Popular.
Rule #3: (Most importantly, and above all) Do not fall for Mr. Popular…

Liam ‘Mr. Popular’ Carter will always be the closest thing to the “walking plague” in my eyes. His cockiness seeps through his every move, and no matter how many state championships he wins with the basketball team, he will forever be a “loss” to me.

Because he’s my older brother’s best friend, I’m forced to tolerate him, and he’s forced to tolerate me. In fact, unless my brother is around, we happily ignore each other every chance we get.

It wasn’t always this way, though…

Several summers ago, we both attended the same summer camp. A place we returned to year after year. We became friends–close friends, but right when I thought he could possibly turn into my everything, he made it clear that what we had was nothing.

Now that’s he’s a senior, and I only have to deal with him for one more year, I’ve vowed to keep repeating the same set of rules to myself. Especially since he seems so hell-bent on wanting to talk to me for some reason, and especially since he seems to be staring at me every time we’re in the same room together…

Rule #4: Always follow rules #1-3…
Rule #5: (OMG what the hell are you doing?) Do not KISS Mr. Popular…”

-Synopsis from Goodreads

Copy of ....@TrashyBibloBlog.png

Mr.Popular is newer standalone by Nicole London. Find it on Goodreads.

| Available now |

| Amazon US | Amazon UK |

I follow a lot of authors on social media, or have signed up for their newsletters. The blurb for Mr.Popular has shown up a time for two in those, and I finally decided to read it. The reason for my 4 stars does not mean this book was not good. I just am not a huge fan of High School love stories. I find them immature, and drama filled. Not that out of college love stories are any better because love makes you blind, it’s just I find it hard to fully follow high school relationships, especially ones that start when the two main characters are young. These two have known each other since she was 4 or so, and their “friendship” started before she was even in high school. So it was just not a story line I normally go for. PUTTING THAT ASIDE, I did enjoy this book. I am a sucker for a siblings best friend romance and this was one that was explained well. There was much detail to how the two fell in love – now don’t be getting pissed because I said they fell in love – this is a romance novel, it is bound to happen.

Mariah and Liam used to be friends well kinda. They also used to have something else going on between them throughout their days in summer camp. Things just kept getting in between them – mostly immature stuff because it all started when they were not in high school yet. Except even though they have moments where they hate each other, they also have moments where all they see is only each other. The story line jumps back and forth between previous summer camps and present. As well as told from both aspects between Liam and Mariah. At moments I found myself lost, thinking that I might of missed something as things were rushed or not explained more but that was more of a personal pet peeve and nothing to do with the writing. There was just so much to be told and written about the two that I understand why we didn’t get every single detail needed.

If you like non YA high school love then you should enjoy this book 🙂

Book Review (1)

Check out my review on Goodreads 😀

Trashy xoxo antlers

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

